Skip to content

Notices for SWSO Members

Member Subscriptions and Gift Aid: Please submit your subscription to our treasurer - £50/yr or £15/concert (first rehearsal free for newcomers), or by electronic payment to "Saffron Walden Orchestral Society – SWSO", at Barclays Bank Plc, sort code. 20-00-87, Acct. 90850217. If you are a taxpayer you can make your subscription worth 25% more to the orchestra at no cost to yourself, by making it under the Gift Aid scheme. You can also help the orchestra minimise its administration costs by paying your subscription annually by standing order. Download the Gift Aid (.doc), and return it completed to our treasurer.

Please don't regard subscriptions as optional - the orchestra does have significant costs to cover. 

This season's concert dates: 

  • Sunday 17 June 2018, 3pm (Joint SWSO / SWCS concert)
  • Saturday July 7 2018, 7:30pm, Clavering Church - strings "Ensemble Zaffrano"
  • Sunday September 30, 2018, 3pm - Children's concert, narrated by James Mayhew
  • Saturday 13 October 2018, 7:30pm - The Planets, Thaxted Church
  • Sunday 11 November 2018, 3pm - World War I memorial concert, in association with the United Nations
  • Sunday 10 February 2019, 3pm - American concert
  • Saturday 11 May, 2019, 7:30pm - Mahler - Symphony No. 1
  • Sunday 30 June, 2019, 3:00pm - Film music concert
 

Scheduled Rehearsals:

Ensemble Zaffrano - Saturday 7th July 2018, 7:30pm - Clavering Church, Essex (STRINGS ONLY)
Day Date Time Venue
Sunday July 1, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday July 6, 2018 7:30-9:30pm Venue TBC
Saturday July 7, 2018 6:00-9:30pm Clavering Church
 
James Mayhew children's concert - Sunday 30th September 2018, 3pm, Saffron Hall
Day Date Time Venue
Sunday Sept 9, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Sept 16, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall**
Sunday Sept 23, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday Sept 28, 2018 7:30-9:30pm SW County High School (E7)
Sunday Sept 30, 2018 10am-1:00pm Saffron Hall
      **includes PLANETS read-through

 

Holst, Planets - Saturday 13th October 2018, 7.30pm, Thaxted Church

Day Date Time Venue
Friday Oct 5, 2018 7:30-9:30pm SW County High School (E7)
Sunday Oct 7, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Thaxted Church (TBC)
Friday Oct 12, 2018 7:30-9:30pm SW County High School (E7)
Saturday Oct 13, 2018 2:30-5:30pm Thaxted Church

 

Remembrance concert - Sunday 11th November 2018 3pm, Saffron Hall
 
Day Date Time Venue
Sunday Oct 21, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Oct 28, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Nov 4, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday Nov 9, 2018 7:30-9:30pm SW County High School (E7)
Sunday Nov 11, 2018 10am-1:00pm Saffron Hall
 

American/Jazz concert - Sunday 10th February 2019, 3pm, Saffron Hall

Day Date Time Venue
Sunday Jan 13, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Jan 20, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Jan 27, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Feb 3, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday Feb 8, 2019 7:30-9:30pm SW County High School (E7)
Sunday Feb 10, 2019 10am-1:00pm Saffron Hall

 

Nature concert - Saturday 11th May 2019, 7.30pm, Saffron Hall

Day Date Time Venue
Sunday April 7, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday April 14, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday April 28, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday May 5, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday May 10, 2019 7:30-9:30pm SW County High School (E7)
Saturday May 11, 2019 2:30-5:30pm Saffron Hall

 

Film Music concert - Sunday 30th June 2019, 3pm, Saffron Hall

Day Date Time Venue
Sunday June 2, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday June 9, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday June 16, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday June 23, 2019 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday June 28, 2019 7:30-9:30pm SW County High School (E7)
Sunday June 30, 2019 10am-1:00pm Saffron Hall

 

Tickets for our concerts in or near Saffron Walden are generally available from:

For more details on any of our events, please do feel free to contact us.

All programme information subject to confirmation 

 

Concert Dress: all black, no jackets