Skip to content

Notices for SWSO Members

Member Subscriptions and Gift Aid: Please submit your subscription to our treasurer - £50/yr or £15/concert (first rehearsal free for newcomers), or by electronic payment to "Saffron Walden Orchestral Society – SWSO", at Barclays Bank Plc, sort code. 20-00-87, Acct. 90850217. If you are a taxpayer you can make your subscription worth 25% more to the orchestra at no cost to yourself, by making it under the Gift Aid scheme. You can also help the orchestra minimise its administration costs by paying your subscription annually by standing order. Download the Gift Aid (.doc), and return it completed to our treasurer.

Please don't regard subscriptions as optional - the orchestra does have significant costs to cover. 

This season's concert dates: 

  • Sunday, 11 February 2018, 3pm
  • Saturday, 14 April 2018, 7.30pm
  • Sunday, 17 June 2018, 3pm (Joint SWSO / SWCS concert)
  • Sunday September 30, 2018, 3pm - Children's concert, narrated by James Mayhew
  • Saturday, 13 October 2018, 7:30pm - The Planets, Thaxted Church
  • Sunday November 11, 2018, 3pm - World War I memorial concert, in association with the United Nations
  • TBC: Sunday 10 February, 2019, 3pm - Film music concert
  • TBC: Saturday 11 May, 2019, 7:30pm - Mahler - Symphony No. 1
  • TBC: Sunday 30 June, 2019, 3:00pm - Jazz concert
 

Scheduled Rehearsals:

Sunday , February 11, 2018 at 3:00pm - Saffron Hall, Saffron Walden

Day Date Time Venue
Sunday Jan 14, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Jan 21, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Jan 28, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Feb 4, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday Feb 9, 2018 7:30-9:30pm Saffron Walden County High School, E7
Sunday Feb 11, 2018 10am - 1pm Saffron Hall
 Saturday April 14, 2018 at 7:30pm - Saffron Hall, Saffron Walden (tbc - most of this is in the Easter holiday)
Day Date Time Venue
Sunday Mar 11, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Mar 18, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Mar 25, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Apr 8, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday Apr 13, 2018 7:30-9:30pm Saffron Walden County High School, E7
 Saturday Apr 14, 2018 2:30 - 5:30pm Saffron Hall
Sunday , June 17, 2018 at 3:00pm - Saffron Hall, Saffron Walden (Joint SWSO / SWCS concert; gap due to half-term)
Day Date Time Venue
Sunday May 13, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday May 20, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Jun 3, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Sunday Jun 10, 2018 6:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
Friday Jun 15, 2018 7:30-9:30pm Newport Village Hall
 Sunday Jun 17, 2018 10am - 1pm Saffron Hall
 

Tickets for our concerts in or near Saffron Walden are generally available from:

For more details on any of our events, please do feel free to contact us.

All programme information subject to confirmation 

 

Concert Dress: all black, no jackets