Notices for SWSO members

Notice of Annual General Meeting, 3rd November, NVH

SAFFRON WALDEN ORCHESTRAL SOCIETY AGM 2019

 

2019/20 concert dates:

  • Sunday 6 October 2019, 3pm (James Mayhew children’s concert)
  • Sunday 17 November 2019, 3pm (Sibelius 2 concert)
  • Sunday 9 February 2020, 3pm (Film music concert)
  • Saturday 28th March 2020, 7.30pm (Brahms/Tchaikovsky)
  • Sunday 5 July 2020, 3pm (Family concert)
 

Scheduled rehearsals:

 

Sunday 17th November 2019, 3pm: Sibelius 2 concert
 
Holst – Egdon Heath 
Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No.2 (Alex Redington, violin)
Sibelius – Symphony No.2
 
Sunday 20th October 2019: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 27th October 2019: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 3rd November 2019: 6.30 – 9.30 (AGM starts at 5:30)
Sunday 10th November 2019: – 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Friday 15th November 2019: 7.15 – 9.30 SWCHS E7
Sunday 17th November 2019: 10.00 – 1.00 Saffron Hall
 
Sunday 9th February 2020, 3pm: Film music concert
 
Sunday 12th January 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 19th January 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 26th January 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Friday 31st January 2020: 7:15 – 9.30 SWCHS E7
Friday 7th February 2020: 7.15 – 9.30 SWCHS E7
Sunday 9th February 2020: 10.00 – 1.00 Saffron Hall
 
Saturday 28th March 2020, 7.30pm: Tchaikovsky/Brahms
 
Weber – Oberon Overture
Tchaikovsky – Piano Concerto No.1 (Stephen Smithers, piano)
Brahms – Symphony No.3
 
Sunday 1st March 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 8th March 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 15th March 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 22nd March 2020: 6.30-9.30 NVH
Friday 27th March 2020: 7.30 – 9.30 SWCHS E7 
Saturday 28th March 2020: 2.30 – 5:30 
 
Sunday 5th July 2020, 3pm: Family concert
 
Programme to include:
Edmunds – Peter and the Flu (World premiere)
Hovhaness – And God Created Great Whales
 
Sunday 7th June 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 14th June 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 21st June 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Sunday 28th June 2020: 6.30 – 9.30 NVH
Friday 3rd July 2020: 7.30 – 9.30 SWCHS E7
Sunday 5th July 2020: 10.00 – 1.00 Saffron Hall
 

Tickets for our concerts in or near Saffron Walden are generally available from:

 

Member subscriptions and gift aid

Please submit your subscription to our treasurer – £60/yr or £20/concert (first rehearsal free for newcomers), or by electronic payment to “Saffron Walden Orchestral Society – SWSO”, at Barclays Bank Plc, sort code. 20-00-87, Acct. 90850217.

Payment is due on 1st August. To save on admin for the committee, please set up a standing order. 

If you are a taxpayer, you can make your subscription worth 25% more to the orchestra at no cost to yourself, by making it under the Gift Aid scheme. You can also help the orchestra minimise its administration costs by paying your subscription annually by standing order. Download the Gift Aid (.doc), and return it completed to our treasurer.

Please don’t regard subscriptions as optional; the orchestra does have significant costs to cover. 

All programme information is subject to confirmation 

Concert dress: all black, no jackets